Scholar Librarian of the Year Award

Calling for nominations

This award of $250.00 (compliments of Gale Cengage) recognizes an academic librarian whose original research—related to or relevant to academic libraries and/or higher education—has resulted in outstanding work published during the previous 2 calendar years (2010 and 2011). The recipient also receives a complimentary membership in the Louisiana chapter and a framed certificate.

Books, chapters in books, presentations published in conference proceedings, peer-reviewed journal articles and Web documents will be considered. Candidates may also submit co-authored publications. Librarians with academic or faculty appointments at Louisiana universities and colleges, including two-year institutions, are eligible. Applicants need not be members of ACRL or its Louisiana chapter.

To Enter:

To enter, e-mail your nomination, with the relevant publications to be considered as attachments, to Tony Fonseca, at Applications will be accepted until midnight, March 1, 2012. Receipt of applications will be acknowledged.

Entries will be judged by the ACRL-LA Awards Committee according to criteria of originality and innovation, value to practice and/or theory of academic librarianship, research, content, and style. The Committee may recommend that the award not be conferred for any given year, depending upon the quality of applications received.

The Committee will notify the winner and make a formal presentation of the award during the reception jointly hosted by ACRL-LA and LLA-Academic Section at the annual conference of the Louisiana Library Association. Please direct any questions about the award to:

Tony Fonseca, Interim Chair
ACRL-LA Awards Committee
225-312-6936 or 985-448-4657

Past Winners

acrlla-slya-2011.rtf423.74 KB